Special thanks to our partners at Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky and The Community Foundation of Louisville (Bounce is fiscally sponsored by the Community Foundation of Louisville, a 501C3 public charity)

  • w-facebook

©2019 The Bounce Coalition. Proudly created with Wix.com

Imagine a community where all children are happy and healthy

Building Resilience in our Community’s Kids

(BRICK)

Imagine: the possibilities of a community that understands and agrees upon the importance of healthy and happy children.

Imagine: the power of a community working together.

Imagine: what we can do…

The Building Resilience in our Community’s Kids (BRICK) is a committed group that is convening community leaders to catalyze their efforts through strategic questioning and conversations, blending their intelligence to solve problems through conversations prompted by this question: 

What can we do together to assure that our children are healthy and happy, that our children are resilient when faced with trauma, that our children grow into healthy, happy adults?

Leader’s from education, community mental health, universities, government, health providers and non-government organizations assembled to synergize efforts by maximizing collective impact, developing a collaborative vision and mission and reducing redundancies.

How do I get involved?

You can get involved in building resilient children and families by joining one of the BRICK Action Groups (listed below):

  1. Building a network of resources for older youth who have complex needs (mental illness, low cognitive abilities, trauma, and limited financial support.)- Nikki Boyd-Nikki.boyd@nortonhealthcare.org

  2. Preventing teen pregnancy: Anita Barbie-  Anita.barbee@louisville.edu

  3. Developing a consortium of Bounce curriculum trainers: David Finke- David.finke@uspiritus.org

  4. Ensuring racial equity and inclusion in our community

  5. Helping kids feel safe to play in their neighborhoods: Jackie Ralston- jralston@sevencounties.org

  6. Ensuring drug-free homes for children from birth to age 3: Stephanie Barnett- Stephanie@choose-well.org

  7. Using our health care systems to connect families to services: Tom Walton-Tomwalton@kentuckyonehealth.org

  8. Social emotional learning: Bridget Dewson-bridget@minimeyoga.com

  9. Discovering what works to increase resilience and decrease alcohol and substance abuse; Best practices that K-12 and colleges can share: Heather Parrino-Heather.parrino@louisville.edu

  10. Expanding the work of the Bounce Coalition: Bev Winsch- Beverly.winsch@jefferson.kyschools.us

  11. Connecting “parent advocates” into area programs: Judy Schroeder- Judy.Schroeder@metrounitedway.org

  12. Analyzing policy that contributes to trauma:

  13. Creating a more trauma-informed school board